What Happened to the Corbetts

Author(s): Nevil Shute

Fiction

A novel that describes the devastation resulting from an aerial bomb attack in Southampton which destroys the city's infrastructure and leaves the inhabitants at the mercy of cholera and further assaults. It follows the trials and tribulations of the Corbett family as they try to get to safety.

$22.99(AUD)

Available Stock:
0

Order this Item


Add to Wishlist


Product Information

A classic adventure from the author of A Town Like Alice and On the Beach.

Mr Shute is a storyteller in the tradition of R.L. Stevenson and Kipling Evening News One of the best storytellers of our age That shattering, unaffected, literary style of his is wholly deceptive...is, in fact, masterly

Nevil Shute Norway was born on 17 January 1899 in Ealing, London.After attending the Dragon School and Shrewsbury School, he studied Engineering Science at Balliol College, Oxford. He worked as an aeronautical engineer and published his first novel, Marazan, in 1926. In 1931 he married Frances Mary Heaton and they went on to have two daughters. During the Second World War he joined the Royal Navy Volunteer Reserve where he worked on developing secret weapons. After the war he continued to write and settled in Australia where he lived until his death on 12 January 1960. His most celebrated novels include Pied Piper (1942), No Highway (1948), A Town Like Alice (1950) and On the Beach (1957).

General Fields

  • : 9780099529972
  • : Penguin Random House
  • : Vintage Classics
  • : September 2009
  • : 198mm X 130mm X 19mm
  • : United Kingdom
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : Nevil Shute
  • : Paperback
  • : 256